As part of the Urban Salon seminar series, I am organising a seminar to take place on Monday 23rd March 2015 at the LSE. The speaker, Christopher Gaffney, is going to discuss the actions of the Comitês Populares da Copa (CPC) or Popular Committees of the World Cup, which organised resistance movements and contested the hosting of the 2014 FIFA World Cup on Brazil. Discussions are provided by Isaac Marrero-Guillamon (Goldsmiths College, University of London) and Mike Raco (UCL), who would build their responses on their previous studies of the London Olympic Games experiences.

Please see below for more details.

Next Urban Salon event:

An anatomy of resistance: the popular committees of the World Cup in Brazil

Christopher Gaffney (University of Zurich)

Venue: Graham Wallace Room, 5th Floor, Old Building, LSE (Located next to the Senior Common Room)

(See Maps and Directions:

Time: 5-7 pm, Monday 23rd March 2015

Abstract: This talk will explore the formation, composition and political actions of the Comitês Populares da Copa (CPC), Popular Committees of the World Cup, that formed in twelve Brazilian cities in anticipation of the 2014 World Cup. The CPC was the largest network of resistance movements ever assembled for a sports mega-event and contributed to the discourse of resistance and radical street actions that marked the 2013 FIFA Confederations´ Cup. Each of the twelve nuclei was independent of the others but communicated and coordinated through an umbrella organisation called the Articulação Nacional dos Comitês Populares da Copa (ANCoP), National Articulation of Popular Committees for the World Cup. 

Isaac Marrero-Guillamón (Goldsmiths, University of London), co-editor of The Art of Dissent: Adventures in London’s Olympic State;

Chair: Hyun Shin (LSE)

The Urban Salon is a London based seminar series aimed at scholars, artists, practitioners and others who are exploring urban experiences within an international and comparative frame.

The organisers:

Pushpa Arabindoo (UCL), Monica Degen (Brunel), Michael Guggenheim (Goldsmiths), Loretta Lees (Leicester), Jenny Robinson (UCL). Hyun Shin (LSE)